NIT Calicut and MVR Cancer Centre signs collaborative MOU -- to work jointly on engineering problems in Cancer Research

NIT Calicut and MVR Cancer Centre & Research Institute today (1-11-18) formalized their efforts in joint work in Cancer research by signing an MoU by Dr. Sivaji Chakravorti, Director NIT Calicut and Dr. Narayanankutty Warrier, Medical Director, MVR Cancer Centre. This will carry forward joint research between the institutions in the areas of mutual interest such as Cancer Diagnosis using artificial intelligence, computational modeling and characterization of malignant tumors, classification of tumors using electrical measurements, and development and testing of novel therapies to treat cancer such as drug repositioning using data mining. There are currently eight different joint research projects between these two institutes in various stages of development. The MoU also envisages joint workshops and training programs, collaborative academic programs and internships. This partnership is expected to provide a major boost to biomedical engineering research in India.

Speaking at the event, Director of NIT Calicut, Dr Sivaji Chakravorti urged researchers at both the institutions to develop solutions in medical research that can benefit humanity. He emphasized the tremendous potential for in-house product development at NIT Calicut and that the collaboration with MVR cancer centre opens wide opportunities in "Make in India" solutions. Dr. Narayanankutty Warrier, Medical Director of MVR Cancer Centre mentioned the importance that the institute places on patient care together with research that would aid in providing better and cost-effective cancer treatment. MVR centre was also represented by Dr. Iqbal Ahamad (CEO) , Dr. K. V. Sajeevan, Dr. Muralikrishnan V. P., Mr. T.V. Velayudhan (Secretary, Care foundation) and Mr. Jayakrishnan.

 The main research team from NIT Calicut consists of Dr Ameer P M, Dr Praveen Sankaran, Dr Sathidevis P S, Dr Raghu C V , Dr Abdul Nazeer K A , Dr Subhasini R , Dr Subhasree M, Dr Baiju Nair, Dr Suresh P S  which may get expanded in the near future.